ND036 - Qatar Waives Entry Visa for Travelers of 80 Countries
News & community - Update

Qatar Waives Entry Visa for Travelers of 80 Countries

Qatar announced a visa-free entry for citizens of 80 countries effective immediately.  The move to open Qatar’s doors comes amid an ongoing Gulf dispute that has hit hard the country’s tourism and hospitality industry.

Qatar waiver valid for 30 or 90 days

The visa waiver allows the travelers to stay in Qatar for 30 or 90 days, depending on the nationality. For nationals of 33 countries (listed below), among them European countries like The Netherlands, France, and Germany, the waiver allows travelers to spend up to 90 days in Qatar, during either a single trip or on multiple trips. The waiver can be used 180 days from the date of issuance.


1. Austria

2. Bahamas

3. Belgium

4. Bulgaria

5. Croatia

6. Cyprus

7. Czech Republic

8. Denmark

9. Estonia

10. Finland

11. France

12. Germany

13. Greece

14. Hungary

15. Iceland

16. Italy

17. Latvia

18. Liechtenstein

19. Lithuania

20. Luxembourg

21. Malta



23. Norway

24. Poland

25. Portugal

26. Romania

27. Seychelles

28. Slovakia

29. Slovenia

30. Spain

31. Sweden

32. Switzerland

33. Turkey


Citizens of the other 47 countries (in the list below), such as the United States, Canada, and the United Kingdom, can spend up to 30 days in Qatar, also during either a single trip or on multiple trips. In this case, the waiver will be valid for 30 days from the date of issuance. The waiver could be extended for a further 30 days should the traveler wish so.


1. Andorra

2. Argentina

3. Australia

4. Belarus

5. Bolivia

6. Brazil

7. Brunei

8. Canada

9. Chile

10. China

11. Colombia

12.  Ecuador

13.  Panama

14.  Costa Rica

15.   Georgia

16.  Guyana


17. Hong Kong

18. India

19. Indonesia

20. Ireland

21. Japan

22. Kazakhstan

23. Lebanon

24. Azerbaijan

25. Macedonia

26. Malaysia

27. Maldives

28. Mexico

29. Moldova

30. Monaco

31. New Zealand

32. Paraguay


33. Peru

34. Russia

35. San Marino

36. Singapore

37. South Africa

38. South Korea

39. Suriname

40. Cuba

41. Thailand

42. Ukraine

43. United Kingdom

44. United States

45. Uruguay

46. Vatican City

47. Venezuela


“With 80 countries eligible for a visa waiver, Qatar is now the most open country in the region, and we are delighted to invite visitors to discover our renowned hospitality, cultural heritage and natural treasures”, said Hassan Al Ibrahim of the Qatar Tourism Authority (QTA) in a statement.

The new visa waivers follow an earlier implemented four-day (96 hours) transit visas free that is available to Qatar Airways passengers transiting through the country, regardless of nationality. A senior Ministry of Interior official added that “further enhancements” to Qatar’s visa policies are under study and would be announced “in due course.”

Two months ago, major Arab countries cut diplomatic ties with Qatar. The boycott deprived Qatar of the major air routes, when all trade and travel was stopped by Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, Egypt and Kingdom of Bahrain. The quartet claims Qatar supports terrorist groups and attempts to undermine their regional policies. To weather the pressure, the government in capital Doha announced a series of measures aimed at adjusting to the new situation.

We are a full-service humanitarian travel management company, and we're trying to improve the quality of humanitarian travel by offering advice to humanitarian travelers on subjects and issues that directly affect their travel and way of carrying out their priceless work. Do you want to learn more about traveling to Qatar? Please contact your nearest Raptim office through our quick address locator.